Hitting Harder With Eddie Stone

image

With the crazy amount of talents that are coming from Northern Ireland and Ireland we thought that everyone needed to hear about someone who is being given rave reviews and that is the hard hitting Eddie Stone.

UWR: Where are you from ?

STONE: I am from Banbridge a small town in Northern Ireland

UWR: How old are you ?

STONE: I am currently 26 on the verge of turning 27 within the next few weeks

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

STONE: Absolutely I’ve been watching from I was no age, my brother was actually the person that introduced me to wrestling at a young age and I’ve been addicted ever since.

UWR: Where did you train to wrestle , who trained you and how old were you ?

STONE: I started training when I was 24 in a school based in Belfast since then that school has shut down and I now train with Uprising school of professional wrestling, the school is definitely the best school in Ireland and one of the best in the U.K and has been hugely successful thus far.

image

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

STONE: My earliest memories of wrestling are in the early 90’s, The first wrestler I can remember watching and supporting growing up was Bret Hart he was always my brother and sisters favourite so I was immediately drawn to him, my biggest inspiration however in wrestling is none other than Eddie Guerrero everything he done stood out ten times more than anyone else on any roster I truly believe he was the complete package as a professional wrestler he had the wrestling ability, he had the promo skills and he’s the only guy I can think off that could get under your skin and make you hate him then two minutes later he would have you doubled over laughing, there is no one that will ever be remotely close to being that good again.

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

STONE: My number one supporter is my girlfriend she will very rarely miss a show, My family aren’t that supportive of my decided path but hey you’ve gotta do what makes you happy.

image

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was it against, did it go well and what do you remember most about it ?

STONE: My first match was actually against one of my old trainers, I had my first match 6 months after I had started training, the one thing that stands out is the positive feedback afterwards, I was told that I looked like I had been doing it a lot longer than I actually had and was one of the standouts on the show.

UWR: For people that have never seen you wrestle before tell them about your wrestlers character, what is your style of wrestling and have you wrestled under any other names?

STONE: I believe the best characters are those that are an extension of yourself and that’s exactly what I done I took a lot of my real life experiences and made them into something that I can project to an audience.

As I said I was a huge fan of Eddie Guerrero so I’ve studied him quite a lot and implemented some of his style, but I was also a huge fan of Chris Benoit so I’ve took a lot of his aggressive style and tried to put my own twist on it and last but not least Randy Orton he has this slow methodical approach to hurting his opponents, I think any aspiring wrestler could learn a lot just by watching Orton’s body language.

I’ve wrestled under a few names and gimmicks for some family friendly shows that tour around Ireland which have been great fun.

image

UWR: What companies have you Wrestled for, where can people see you wrestle next and are there any other companies you would like to work with in the future ?

STONE: I have wrestled for Uprising Wrestling, Pro Wrestling Ulster, Fight Factory Pro Wrestling, Main Stage Wrestling and Wrestling.ie.

My next advertised show is at Uprising “Hit hard or die trying” I will be going one on one with Nathan Byrne the show date for that one is still to be confirmed, I’ve a few more shows pencilled in for next month, I’ll be with Pro Wrestling Ulster on the 16th April and the 30th April also keep an eye on my twitter page @Eddie_Stone__ for all my upcoming dates or else you can find me on my Facebook page.

As for companies I would like to work for in the future I’ve gotta say number one on my list at the minute is Over The Top Wrestling, they’re the biggest promotion in Ireland and they are absolutely on fire right now having just sold out the national stadium in Dublin which seats 2000 people, I would also like to venture over to mainland U.K. and just get the chance to show people what I can do there’s so many promotions there right now that are bringing the wrestling scene back to the forefront and I’d love to work for everyone and anyone.

image

UWR: So what is next for You ?

STONE: Next for me is hopefully working for more companies across the U.K and Ireland continuing to make a name for myself, the end goal for me is always to get the call for a wwe tryout, that’s where I want to be, it’s where everyone aspires to be.

I’d also like to add a few championships beside my name, that’s one personal goal that’s still evaded me to this day.

For any booking enquiries contact dmckinstry@rocketmail.com

UWR: Thanks for doing this we really appreciate it.

STONE: Thank you for your time

image

Leave a Reply

