Stealing The Show And Being A Pro With NATHAN CRUZ

image

There are so many top British talents that are becoming more well known all over the world and one of those who has been making a name for himself is the first ever Progress Wrestling Champion,  Former Progress Tag Team Champion and Two Time NGW Champion, “The Professional”  Nathan Cruz.

UWR:  Where are you from ?

CRUZ:  Hull 2017 UK City Of Culture

UWR:  How old are you ?

CRUZ:  26

UWR:  Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

CRUZ:  Always. Watched it as far back as I can remember

UWR:  Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you ?

CRUZ:  I began training at 15. Sadly I had an awful start with a really bad trainer (unknown to me at the time) called the Urban Warrior. He was terrible. Lucky for me when I started getting booked on local shows El Ligero took me under his wing for my formative years and later on Rampage Brown. Those two are who I’d credit as my trainers.cruz1

UWR:   Who were some of your influences growing up ?

CRUZ:  Where to begin. Chris Jericho, Shawn Michaels, Undertaker, HHH, Flair, Malenko, Benoit.

UWR:   Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

CRUZ:  They are yes. My life long best friend is Matt Myers. We’ve been friends since we were 7 and it was wrestling that originally bonded us. My Mum is my biggest fan and paid for my first six months of training and gym membership.

 

image

 

UWR:  I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match, did it go well and what do you remember most about it ?

CRUZ:  Like most my first match was a battle royal. I don’t remember much but a few so called ‘veterans’ taking a few liberties

 

image

UWR:  For people that have never seen you perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

CRUZ:  My character is an elitist. Calling himself the professional, Cruz in his own mind is above those around him due to his own wealth and young success. As for my style; I’m just going with a true heel.

UWR:  What is the best match you have ever seen ?

CRUZ:  Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels WM25

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

CRUZ: Too tough to chose just one.I always really enjoy my matches with Rampage.
But the match in which Ligero and I lost the progress tag titles to London Riots is up there for me.

UWR:  What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

CRUZ:  The NXT match. It was validation that I was clearly on the right track and a big F you to anyone who said that getting to WWE was just a pipe dream.

 

cruz2

 

UWR:  Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

CRUZ: Sami Callihan, Cody Rhodes.

UWR:  If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it be ?

CRUZ: HHH

UWR:   Are there any companies that you would like to work for in the future?

CRUZ:  New Japan. ROH. Rev Pro. What Culture.

 

image

UWR:  What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?

CRUZ:  You’ll never stop learning and you can learn from everyone.

UWR:  Where can people see you perform next ?

CRUZ: The coming week I will be at all three of the butlins camps for NGW.
Then flying out to Denmark for DPW in Randers. Then over to Kiel, Germany for Maximum.

image

Go follow Nathan Cruz on twitter @Nathan_Cruz90

Please follow us @UWReviews and like our FB page https://www.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/?ref=bookmarks

Leave a Reply

