Curtis Murray: The small guy who brings a big fight and takes flight.

image

The amount of young talented wrestlers around at the moment on the UK and Ireland Wrestling scene is crazy but for us Marks its the best time to be fans of Wrestling. So we came across another very talented young man from Belfast, this city is pumping out talented wrestlers by the truck load at the moment and Curtis Murray is another who we think will go the same way as his fellow country men like Balor, Devlin and Damo and end up performing on the biggest stage in the world one day.

UWR: Where are you from ?

CURTIS: I’m from Belfast, Northern Ireland.

UWR: How old are you ?

CURTIS: I’m 23 years old.

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?
CURTIS: I grew up living with my granny and granda and I remember my granda telling me one time how he had been watching professional wrestling since the early 1970’s, sadly he’s no longer with us so he never got to see me step inside a ring but it’s safe to say I grew up watching professional wrestling.

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you?

CURTIS: The school I trained in when I first started is no longer around as it shut down. While I was there I considered WWE United Kingdom Championship tournament competitor Tucker to be my trainer as I learnt everything from him and he definitely influenced my baby steps in professional wrestling and it’s amazing to see what he’s doing these days with the WWE. I’m currently training at Uprising School of Professional Wrestling which is based in Belfast. It’s a fantastic school and I train there 4-5 times a week. It’s ran by the Kings of the North, Bonesaw and Damien Corvin and it has a great reputation of training people in the basics the correct way. Anyone in Northern Ireland who wishes to train in professional wrestling I urge them to make contact with the school and take that step, you won’t regret it.

image

UWR:  Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

CURTIS: I wouldn’t say so, no. Especially after my injury and surgeries they’re even more against it. My granda was the only one who shared my love for it.

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match, did it go well and what do you remember most about it ?

CURTIS: My first match was an unfortunate tag team match with an unfortunate tag team partner, I don’t remember much about it other than doing a suicide dive to the outside of the ring for the first time. I think I was against a team called “State of Emergency” who aren’t around anymore.

UWR: For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style?

CURTIS: I have a high risk offensive move set, currently the small guy who brings a big fight and takes flight.

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen.

CURTIS: Shawn Michaels vs. The Undertaker Wrestlemania 26

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

CURTIS: I believe my best match so far is a fatal 4 way match at Uprising The Beginning against Raptor, Gavin Fitz and Scott Speers. It was my first match back after injury and surgeries and it showed just what I was still capable off. Another match I fondly remember is against Adam Flex Maxted from a while back, surprised to this day with how good our chemistry was when we were both still starting out.

image

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

CURTIS: Proudest moment so far from my time in professional wrestling is without a single doubt making my Over The Top Wrestling debut.

UWR: Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

CURTIS: I don’t mean to cop out of this question but there’s genuinely far too many to list!

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it be?

CURTIS: For me personally, it would have to be AJ Styles.

image

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling?

CURTIS: Get in shape, from personal experience.

UWR:  Where can people see you perform next ?

CURTIS: Next advertised show will be against WWE United Kingdom Championship competitor Tucker. It’s student vs teacher and I’m very excited about that. It’s May 7th in the Europa Hotel in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Follow Curtis Murray on Twitter @CurtisxMurray

Follow UWR on Twitter @UWReviews and please go like our FB page https://www.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/?ref=bookmarks

Leave a Reply

