Winning Is A Way Of Life When You Are ‘The Chosen One’ Alex Young

alexyoung6

From the first time I went to a WAW show one person among others blew me away with his athleticism and technique. He makes everything inside the ring look effortless and I believe he is just as good as anyone on the independent scene today and any company would be very lucky to have him perform on their show. So with that being said who else could be next for us to interview than ‘The Chosen One’ Alex Young.

UWR:  Where are you from ?

YOUNG: Norwich England

UWR: How old are you ?

YOUNG: I’m 24 years old.

UWR:  Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

YOUNG: I was a big fan of pro wrestling growing up, I remember watching an episode of WWF (WWE) Heat and from that day I was hooked.

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you?

YOUNG: I was trained at WAW (World Association of Wrestling) based in Norwich. My sister had been wrestling for the company for a while and she asked me if I wanted to attend one of there monthly training schools, I was 11 years old when I first stepped into a wrestling ring. I was trained mainly by the Knight Family as well as Jason Cross.

alexyoung15

 

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

YOUNG: It would have to be guys like Mr Perfect, Chris Benoit, Dean Malenko as well as others. There as so many people in the wrestling industry that influenced and inspired me a lot growing up but Shawn Michaels was a major influence for me. Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

UWR: Are your Family and Friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling career ?

Young: My family have always been supportive of my wrestling career even when I started at a young age, I’m lucky in that aspect. Yeah my friends are also supportive of it, its a huge part of my life and it’s something that will forever be apart of me so I guess they don’t really have a choice ha ha.

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match, did it go well and what do you remember most about it ?

YOUNG: My first match was a six man tag myself, Cougar Kid and Taurus vs Sam Slam and at the time the  British Tag Team Champions Bash and Crash and as you can imagine I was a nervous wreck. The match went well for my first time wrestling in front of an audience, honestly I don’t remember much of the match but I remember getting my nose broken later on in a pull apart!

UWR:  For people that have never seen Alex Young perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

YOUNG: I’m the type of guy that doesn’t care much about anything but the one thing I do care about is winning. I’m not one for caring what people think about me, as I say I let my wrestling do the talking for me. I am an all rounder when it comes to wrestling I can wrestle any style, Which makes it easy for me to adapt to any opponent or crowd.

alexyoung8

UWR:  In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen ?

RThat is a very hard question.. to be honest there are a few matches I’ve seen that I absolutely loved, probably have to be Bryan Danielson vs Nigel McGuiness. They had some outstanding matches in Ring Of Honor.

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

YOUNG: One of my best matches I personally think I’ve had is when I got the chance to wrestle Steve Corino in Thetford for WAW, it was fun and the crowd loved every second of it. My best opponent without a doubt would have to be Roy Knight, Roy is a fantastic and well respected wrestler in this business and he’s always bought out the best in me. We have wrestled so many times I’ve lost count but it doesn’t matter how many times we step in the ring with each other we always produce something special.

alexyoung14

 

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

YOUNG: My proudest moment would have to be becoming the WAW wrestler of the year. Ever since my first day with WAW becoming wrestler of the year had always been a goal of mine, One I can proudly say I accomplished

UWR: Are there any wrestlers on the UK scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

YOUNG: Will Ospreay, Bubblegum are two guys right off the top of my head. To be honest I would work anyone and everyone on the UK wrestling scene.

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it be ?

YOUNG: Probably have to go with Eddie Guerrero. Hell of a wrestler and always entertaining, would have been a dream come true.

UWR:  Apart from WAW are there any other promotions you work for ? And are there any companies that you would like to work for in the future?

YOUNG: I also work for FFW,PWA,TNT. OF course I would love to be working everywhere and anywhere. There’s a few British companies I would like to work for and others in Europe and around the world.

alexyoung12

 

UWR:  What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?

YOUNG: Just that it’s not as easy as people like to think it is, its a very physical and mental job that does take it out of you. There will be late nights with hardly no sleep and lots and lots of travelling but it’s honestly all worth it. Just listen to your trainers and don’t try and run before you can walk.

UWR: Where can people see you perform next ?

YOUNG: You can see me at Epic Studies In Norwich for WAW on my 13th as well as Former WCW and WWE star Rey Mysterio Visit http://www.wawuk.com for tickets! Also to keep up to date with everything in the world of Alex Young go ahead and follow me on Twitter and Instagram @ChosenOneAY

alexyoung7

All Photos in this interview were taken by the very talented Sonia Tindall please go and like her page and check out more fantastic photos like these ones here on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Tinderss-Shiz-1604520036521414/?ref=br_rs

Please go follow us on Twitter @uwreviews and on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/

 

Leave a Reply

