We Enter The Lair of ‘Dark Wolf’ Matt Walters

The first time I saw  Dark Wolf Matt Walters perform was for a very good local company called Falling Star Wrestling based in rKings Lynn and I saw  how talented he was and since seeing him there I have seen him perform for some of the top companies in the country like Progress and WAW. He is on his way to becoming one of the best in the country and I can’t see it being long before either WOS/TNA or WWE come looking at him he would be a huge boost to either roster. We got the chance to ask him a few questions and found out a lot more about The Dark Wolf Matt Walters.

IMG_0059

UWR: Where are you from ?

Matt: I grew up in Hunstanton in Norfolk but have been living in London for the past eight years. I currently live in Dalston.

UWR: How old are you ?

Matt: I turned 33 recently, which is quite alarming!

IMG_0057

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling?

Matt: Not exactly. My parents never had Sky TV and they didn’t really like us (me & my brother) watching it. My brother was vaguely interested in it though, I remember that he had one of the WWF annuals and a couple of figures; Hogan & Warrior. I didn’t really get into wrestling until I was about 15 when Channel 4 started showing Heat on Sundays.

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you ?

Matt: I started my training at WAW (World Association of Wrestling) with the Sweet Saraya, Ricky Knight and the rest of the family when I was 17 (in 2001). I attended a week-long intensive seminar with them and ended up having my first match at the end of that week. From there I pretty much learned through wrestling on the camps and doing shows. In 2007 I spent 3 months in America where I trained at the WWA4 school with Mr Hughes and Elix Skipper as well as doing a Pro Wrestling Noah camp at the Harley Race School.

IMG_0063

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up?

Matt: I always enjoyed the Hardys, Chris Jericho, the Rock, Taz, Low Ki, Samoa Joe, KENTA… loads really.

UWR; Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career?

Matt: The day I told my Dad I was going to start wrestling training he told me that I had ‘rocks in my head’ which is quite funny. Over time my parents have been supportive and come to shows but I’ve been involved in wrestling for so long that they don’t really watch any more. My friends get to shows when they can.

IMG_0058

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ? And what do you remember most about it ?

Matt: As I mentioned before, I had my first match after the week-long training camp at WAW. Someone had pulled out of a show in Great Yarmouth so they were short of wrestlers, this gave me and my friend Rob, who was also training, the opportunity to have a tag match against Bash & Crash (two baseball themed wrestlers). In my head, the match was OK at the time but I’ve never seen it and I never want to!! It was a fun experience though.

UWR: For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style?

Matt: I call myself ‘Dark Wolf’ this relates to my tenacious character. I like to pick apart my opponents, toying with them as I do so. I guess my style is probably ‘grumpy athlete’…

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen.

Matt: I can’t remember off the top of my head but I always loved Kenta v Noamichi Marufuji matches. I would say the match that really changed how I looked at wrestling was a tag match between Kenta & Taiji Ishimori vs. Kota Ibushi & Naomichi Marufuji in 2007.

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had?

Matt: Not sure. Over the years I’ve always enjoyed wrestling BULK, Roy Knight, Tom Dawkins, a guy called the Cougar Kid who no longer wrestles. I think me and Kip Sabian have an awesome match in us somewhere along the line.

IMG_0061

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling?

Matt: I’m my own biggest critic, I’m never really satisfied. But I guess you could say that winning championships is a validation of your work and the belief in you by the promotion and the fans. I’ve won belts at WAW, Falling Starr Wrestling and World War Wrestling.

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it

Matt: Jeff Hardy

IMG_0060

UWR: Are there any companies that you would like to work for in the future?

Matt: Loads. What Culture, Attack, ICW, PCW, Southside, OTT, Lucha Britannia, RCWA, Chaos. I’d like to work for Progress again. Basically anyone and everyone in Britain and abroad. I’d really like to expand and broaden my horizons.

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling?

Matt: Get fit and get a look. Train with as many people as possible. Don’t be shy. Practice promos.

IMG_0064

UWR: Where can people see you perform next?

Matt: I have shows coming up for Falling Starr Wrestling, World War Wrestling, World Association of Wrestling, Wrestleforce and Unprofessional Wrestling. Come along!

Go follow Dark Wolf Matt Walters on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/dark_wolf_fights/

On Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MattWaltersFighting/

and on Twitter @DarkWolfFights

All photos used in this interview were taken by the very talented Robyn Goding, Oli Sandler, Rob Brazier & Lenka Vomelova.

You can follow us on Twitter @uwreviews and please go like our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/UniversalWrestlingReviews/

(Also We want other wrestling fans to come on board and let their voices be heard by either joining me on podcasts, writing for the site, taking pics or video clips of shows or giving their opinion on shows. Let’s make this a community, you can be from anywhere everyone is welcome)

One of our favourite Matt Walters matches against the very talented Kip Sabian check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

