ALL HAIL ALEX WINDSOR

With Women’s and British Wrestling being the hottest they have been for a long time we got the opportunity to interview in my opinion one of the best female wrestlers this country has produced. Having watched her perform all over the country for every top promotion including at Progress Wrestling’s Brixton Academy show in front of 2,500 fans then she also got to the Semifinals of the Natural Progression Tournament to crown the first Women’s Progress Champion unfortunately she was narrowly beaten but she put in an outstanding performance. She has held multiple titles around the country and on Friday night she will be challenging for the Bellatrix Women’s Championship and we will be there live to see Alex Windsor do what she does better than anyone else.

IMG_0809
UWR: Where are you from ?

Alex: Birmingham, England
UWR: How old are you ?

Alex: I’m 23

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?
Alex: I was never a fan of professional wrestling until I started. Before then, the only thing wrestling related I knew of was Hulk Hogan and I kind of knew who The Undertaker was.

IMG_0424

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you ?
Alex: I started my training at WAW with The Knights when I was 15.

IMG_0811

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?
Alex: I didn’t have any, just learned the business and the who’s who of wrestling as I progressed.

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

Alex: My friends think its the best thing ever but still find it so weird that I wrestle, and my family love coming to watch me wrestle, but at first my mum especially hated watching me get thrown about!

IMG_0428

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ?
And what do you remember most about it ?

Alex: My first match I ever had I didnt think id be wrestling that day, I hadnt even thought of my own name! It was against WWE’s Paige who was Britani Knight at the time. The match went as well as any debut match went, and I just remember thinking it was the the coolest but strangest thing ever actually wrestling in front of a crowd of people.

UWR; For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?
Alex: Id like to think my character is a bit of a bad ass bitch, very cocky which I show in my move sets, but im always down for doing a bit of comedy and story telling in my matches too. Im pretty diverse depending on who im facing, what style they wrestle and what we want to get across in the match.

IMG_0814
UWR; In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen ?
Alex: Most recently, one match that has stuck out as all round amazing was Kenny Omega vs Okada at New Japan Wrestle Kingdom 11. Had to watch it twice. I was just sat in awe the whole time.

UWR; What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?
Alex: Easy, Nixon Newell. All the matches Ive had with her, whether its a singles or we’ve been in tag matches, have always been nothing less than absolutely great. Shes an amazing talent and I love to work with her.


UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?
Alex: Probably a show I done for PROGRESS wrestling at Brixton Academy last year, They had a sell out show of around 2,500 people. Its the biggest crowd ive worked in front of so far and to wrestle in front of that many people and the atmosphere of the whole show, I felt very honoured to be apart of something on such a huge scale.
UWR: Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?
Alex: Right now I dont think theres anyone that springs to mind who I havent wrestled before and would like to step in the ring with. However in terms of wrestling people I have once/a small handful and would love to again would be ‘Session Moth’ Martina, Toni Storm and Kay Lee Ray for sure.

IMG_0432

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it be ?
Alex: Im really not sure, having not been a real wrestling fan for that long or grown up with wrestling ‘heroes’ there’s not really anyone who would be my dream opponent.

UWR: What promotions do you work for ? And are there any companies that you would like to work for in the future?
Alex: Ive worked for a lot of independent companies in the UK, branching out to Ireland for Over The Top Wrestling and also America for such companies as Shimmer Women’s Athletes and Shine Wrestling. I’d like to continue to work for all the top companies in the UK, and travel more around Europe. I’d love to work in Japan some day too.

IMG_0427

UWR; What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?
Alex: Just be prepared to work and earn what opportunities your given. Keep in mind that wrestling is a business – not a social visit with friends. Keep focused and avoid the politics. Never settle, always keep evolving and always strive to be different.

UWR: Where can people see you perform next ?

Alex: I’ll be at Norwich this Friday for Bellatrix Female Warriors, and the following weekend I’ll be in London for Pro-Wrestling:EVE

Go Follow Alex Windsor on Twitter @HailWindsor

Follow us @uwreviews and like our Facebook Page https://m.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/

Leave a Reply

