Bow Down To The ‘Queen Of Wrestling’ Katey Harvey

We have mentioned before the amount of talented Wrestlers coming from Ireland is crazy and another who hails from the same place as WWE superstar Finn Balor and I’m sure he would agree she has the ability to follow in his footsteps. Having competed for most of the top independent companies in the U.K and Ireland and winning multiple titles along the way we wanted to find out more about the ‘Queen Of Wrestling’ Katey Harvey.

IMG_0819

UWR: Where are you from ?

Katey: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland

UWR: How old are you ?

Katey: 27

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling?

Katey: Yep, I grew up watching WCW every week on TNT with my brother and best friends.

IMG_0820

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you ?

Katey: I started training 6 years ago when I was 21. I was trained by Phil Boyd in the Fight Factory in Bray, and I still train there now.

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

Katey: In WCW I loved Bret Hart, Terry Funk and Billy Kidman. When I started watching WWE I loved Lita and Chyna.

IMG_0824

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

Katey: Yeah, my family come to a lot of shows, as do my friends. My work is very supportive too, allowing me time off to wrestle and not minding the odd bump and bruise.

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ? And what do you remember most about it?

Katey: It was against a girl called Lucy on a gym show. It actually went well! It’s on youtube and I can watch it without cringing too much.IMG_0823

UWR: For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

Katey: My character is a feminist icon and queen of wrestling. I like to just hit hard and throw lots of suplexes.

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen?

Katey: I have lots of favourites. I love Lita and Trish from the main event of Raw. I love Nakamura and Zayn from Takeover too. But too many to mention.

IMG_0828

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

Katey: My favorite opponent is Valkyrie, another Irish girl. We’ve had some really good matches over the last year. I also love the fatal 4 way I had for the PWU womens title against, Viper,Pollyanna and Lauren LaRoux.

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

Katey: Loved wrestling in front of so many people at Scrappermania. Also winning the PWU champonship for the first time was really special.

IMG_0831

UWR: Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

Katey: I’m lucky in that I’ve wrestled most of the girls on the scene at the moment, lots I’d like to wrestle again though.

IMG_0830

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it be ?

Katey: I would have loved to have wrestled Chyna. Of people around now, Charlotte.

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?

Katey: Get into the gym outside of wrestling is number one – its a physical contact sport at the end of the day. And be nice, be respectful.

IMG_0821

UWR: Where can people see you perform next?

Katey: I’ll be at OTT and PWU defending my titles over the next few months, as well as back in Belgium, Germany, Holland and the UK. Check out www..facebook.com/KateyHarvey.Wrestling for details.

IMG_0822

 

Follow us on Twitter @uwreviews and go like our Facebook page https://m.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/

Leave a Reply

