Time To Party With Session Moth Martina

As we have mentioned before Women’s wrestling is more popular now than it has ever been and one woman who is making lots of noise on the UK and Ireland Wrestling Scene is Session Moth Martina. The Queen Of Sesh Style is one of the most entertaining and creative characters on the Indy scene and if you have never had the pleasure of seeing her perform you are in for a treat. We got the chance to find out more about this talented young lady.

IMG_0849

UWR: Where are you from?

MOTH: Dublin, Ireland

UWR: How old are you ?

MOTH: 26

UWR: Growing  up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

MOTH: Yes a huge fan, like everybody I adored the attitude era and 80s wrestling as I got older.

IMG_0845

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you ?

MOTH: I started training at 19, in Main Stage Wrestling , my first trainers were the owners of the school then went on to train fully under Joe Cabray aka Luther Ward, and have trained under a load of the Top Irish talents.

UWR:  Who were some of your influences growing up ?

MOTH: I adored stone cold growing up, and Chris Jericho , Eddie and Benoit were some more of my favourites.

IMG_0855

UWR:  Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

MOTH: Yes extremely, I don’t get to see my outside the business friends as much as I used to as I’m traveling all the time but they are so understanding and make time when I can, they fully support it’s my life now, like my parents. My brother would always come support me at my shows aswell.

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ? And what do you remember most about it ?

MOTH: I remember not feeling ready, there weren’t many female talents at the time, so I remember being very nervous, luckily I was in a mixed tag with my trainer Joe so I felt I was in good hands, I’m sure I’d hate it if I seen it now but at the time I remember being proud.

IMG_0852

UWR: For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

MOTH: Absolutely insane, party animal, fun loving anything can happen. Martina is just like every hungover girl out in her jammies the day after a night of dancing, just looking for the next session, as fun loving as Martina is, she’s gonna fight you and fight you hard if you dis her.

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen ?

MOTH: There has been so many, one that always sticks out to me is Sasha vs bayley at NXT Takeover Brooklyn. That changed the game.

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

MOTH: In the last year I’ve had some of my favourite matches, I think Kay Lee Ray is the best there is out there, she makes magic so I love my matches with her, I think my matches with Jinny and Alex Windsor are great and my Progress debut is possibly one of my favourites cause it was just so fun and character driven.

IMG_0854

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

MOTH: Being the first ever OTT women’s champion was huge for me, I put a lot of my life into OTT and have never missed a show, it’s where I started and is home, and the reception I got at Scrappermania in front of 2200 people was without a doubt the most amazing experience of my life.

UWR:  Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

MOTH: I’ve wrestled so many of the greats and can’t wait to again, but there’s a few I would still love the chance to, I’d have loved to have wrestled Nixon, but we had so much fun as a tag as it is!

IMG_0844

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it be ?

MOTH: Eddie, he’d think of the most amazing things to incorporate my gimmick

UWR: What promotions do you work for ? And are there any companies that you would like to work for in the future?

MOTH: I wrestle for OTT and this year became a regular at ICW, have been at Fight Club Pro, Pro Wrestling EVE , Lucha Forever, Progress Wrestling, North Wrestling. I’ve now wrestled and will wrestling for all the promotions I’ve got on my bucket list, I’ll be debuting in Canada later this year along with more UK promotions, my goal is to stay with these places and hopefully add more, possibly in the States  as well!

IMG_0853

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?

MOTH: Wrestling has its ups and downs but stick it out, work harder than anyone and don’t expect to be given anything, the business owes you nothing.

 

UWR: Where can people see you perform next ?

MOTH: I’m wrestling at Progress Wrestling this weekend in Manchester, this month I’ll be at Lucha Forever, Fight Club Pro, Pro Wrestling EVE , ICW,one more TBA, and of course Over The Top Wrestling !

Follow Session Moth on Twitter @mothfromdaflats

Follow us on Twitter @uwreviews

Leave a Reply

