“Don’t just ask for it – Take it! Demand it! Command it!” – Seymour Gains

After watching a few PCW shows online one guy that stood out was a character by the name of Seymour Gains. I found his antagonistic heel gimmick very entertaining and believe he would be a great fit in any promotion around the world. We were lucky enough to catch up with Seymour Gains in between workouts and he was kind enough to give us a short interview to find out more about him.

IMG_1638

UWR: Where are you from ?

Gains: Preston

UWR: How old are you ?

Gains: 29

UWR: Were you a fan of pro wrestling growing up?

Gains: Yes, From the late 90s I watched WCW and WWE, early 2000s I watched TNA.

IMG_1652

UWR: Where did you train to become a wrestler, how old were you and who trained you?

Gains: I started when I was 19/20. Trained at a promotion called 21st Century Wrestling, they were based in Preston. But I stopped 6months after I started due to an injury I picked up in my first few matches and grew discontent with wrestling, you could say life got in the way. But I came back to training in mid 2012 at Grand Pro Wrestling, Manchester unfortunately I aggravated the same injury which set me back again. But I was back training late 2014 via some seminars and started full time training with Preston City Wrestling in January 2015. 2 and half years on I’ve not had any problems since. I’ve been trained and currently training with Joey Hayes, Ashton Smith, T-Bone and Bubblegum. Chris Masters Dave Taylor and Ken Anderson have spent time training with us too.

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up?

Gains: My main influences were the likes of Chris Benoit, Triple H, Shawn Michaels, Sting and AJ Styles.

IMG_1653

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your pro wrestling career?

Gains: Yes I would say so.

UWR: I’m sure like most wrestlers you remember your first match. So who was it against, did it go well and what do you remember most about it?

Gains: My first match was in 2007 for 21CW. It was a battle royal match that I was meant to win, but didn’t I ended up messing a spot (skin the cat) but the ropes were to slack and ended up going over too hard, cracking my lower back on the apron (which ironically was the start of my injury problems), lost my grip of the ropes and I was out. So did go too well at all.

UWR: For people that have never seen you perform before can you describe your character and wrestling style?

Gains: My wrestling character is called Seymour Gains. My character is based on a arrogant, in your face personal trainer, who thinks he is gods gift. I wrestle with a lot of power moves and suplexes.

IMG_1640

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen?

Gains: Hard question to answer. I’ll give 5 that have equal standing in my opinion. Rock vs Austin at WM20, Triple H vs Benoit vs Michaels at WM20, AJ Styles vs Christopher Daniels vs Samoa Joe at Unbreakable 2005, Shawn Michaels vs Undertaker at WM26, Nakamura vs Zayn at Takeover Dallas.

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever had?

Gains: It was a recent tag team match for PCW. Me and Rhio vs Big T and LC Lunar.

IMG_1646

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in pro wrestling?

Gains: Wrestling at the Preston Guild Hall in front of 1500 fans against Rampage Brown.

UWR: Is there anyone on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before?

Gains: Most definitely I would like to wrestle Bubblegum, Ashton Smith, T-Bone, Joey Hayes and Grado.

IMG_1656

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history to have a match with who would it be?

Gains: I would say my dream opponent would be against Hulk Hogan in the late 80s.

UWR: Are there any other companies you would like to work for ?

Gains: At the moment I’m a one promotion man at PCW. But I’ll be spreading my wings towards the end of the year.

UWR: What advice would you give to someone who wants to be a pro wrestler?

Gains: Don’t give up on your dreams, because if you want it bad enough it will happen.

UWR: Where can we see you perform next ?

Gains: You’ll most likely see me at some up and coming PCW shows.

You can follow Seymour Gains on Twitter @PTGains and on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ThePTGains/

You can follow UWR on Twitter @uwreviews and on Facebook https://m.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/

Leave a Reply

