Entertainer, Ambassador, Role Model, Leader, Inspiration. This is Jack Sexsmith

When I first saw Jack Sexsmith perform I like many others found him a very comical novelty act with all the sexual antics involved in the majority of his matches. But over the last year we all have seen a massive improvement in not only his in ring skills but also the development of his character. Now he is a valuable member of the Progress roster and is being used by many companies across the U.K. His feuds with TK Cooper, Sebastian and Zack Gibson have been some of the best in Progress and created some great moments and matches. Then there is the work he is doing as an ambassador and Role Model for the LGBTQ which has been inspirational and we had the pleasure to learn more about Jack  Sexsmith. IMG_1661

 

UWR: WHERE ARE YOU FROM ?

Jack: I was born and raised in merry old Soho and moved out to Hertfordshire in my early teens.

UWR: GROWING UP WERE YOU A FAN OF PRO WRESTLING ?

Jack: I’d seen clips here and there, and was hook on Kane in the late 90’s. He was so sympathetic monster type from a horror film and I was enamoured. Later I was a big rap fan, so John Cena became my guy. Always had a weird thing for Chuck Palumbo too.

IMG_1665

UWR: WHERE DID YOU TRAIN TO BECOME A WRESTLER, WHO TRAINED YOU AND WHEN?

Jack: I originally studied under Justin Richards. He was spectacular at establishing the foundations and the reasons why you would do something in the ring. Frustratingly I suffered a knee injury and my training stopped. In January of 2015 I started up again, this time at the Projo and was able to learn from guys active on the scene: talent like Darrell Allen, James Davis, Eddie Dennis and Jimmy Havoc. That was humbling and they helped me to develop who I was as a performer and better discover my style.

UWR: WHO WERE SOME OF YOUR INFLUENCES GROWING UP?

Jack: Eminem was a big deal. There was such emotion in how he delivered his raps and in his lyrics. That always resonated with me.
The films of Mr Walter Disney pretty much raised me. Adore those bastards.
Loved The O.C and Dawson’s Creek.
I’m Pretty much exclusively influenced by fictitious people.

 

UWR: ARE YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS SUPPORTIVE OF YOUR PRO WRESTLING CAREER ?

Jack: Nah. I was harder telling them I was trying my hand at wrestling than it was coming out as Pan.

UWR: I’M SURE LIKE EVERY WRESTLER YOU REMEMBER YOUR FIRST MATCH. SO WHO WAS IN THE MATCH ? DID IT GO WELL ?
AND WHAT DO YOU REMEMBER MOST ABOUT IT ?

Jack: Christ! It was… it was… just…wow. I had Adam Mansfield in front of about 40 people. Adam was and is great but I was a bag of nerves and managed to botch just about everything I attempted. I think I screwed up a roll up. A BLOODY ROLL UP!

IMG_1662

UWR: FOR PEOPLE THAT HAVE NEVER SEEN YOU PERFORM CAN YOU DESCRIBE YOUR CHARACTER AND WRESTLING STYLE ?

Jack: I am a perennial underdog and ambassador for the LGBTQ+, just trying to carve out a place for himself and his peoples in the hyper masculine world of wrestling. I favour narrative, emotion driven storytelling and an organic connection with the audience.

UWR: IN YOUR OPINION WHAT IS THE BEST MATCH YOU HAVE EVER SEEN.

Jack: Oh I’m so fickle, I can’t really say. Depends so much on what mood I’m in.
My flavour of the month is Flair/HBK. All of the tears innit.

UWR: WHAT IN YOUR OPINION IS YOUR BEST MATCH OR OPPONENT YOU HAVE EVER HAD ?

Jack: That’s a toughie.
I’ve had so many great opponents. I’ve been really lucky. Had two matches at ACW recently, one with Paul Robinson (who is possibly the greatest wrestler I’ve ever watched live!!!) and another with Jimmy Havoc where I was working with a torn bicep that would both be up there. My singles match with Travis Banks at Progress did good business.
If pushed, I think I’ll say the first singles with Zack Gibson at Chapter 44. We planted so many seeds that would go on to be sown in our SSS16 match and I was buzzing from it. I think it’s the only one-on-one contest in Progress history to end by count out, which I’m oddly proud of.

IMG_1663

UWR: WHAT IS YOUR PROUDEST MOMENT FROM YOUR TIME IN PRO WRESTLING ?

Jack: Unequivocally, it’s the messages and tweets I receive saying I’ve helped people in the LGBTQ+. It’s not natural for me to be a leader or a role model but I’m trying. When I get response saying “you helped me find the strength to come out” or “you helped me realise who I am”…. It’s madness and truly humbling.

UWR: ARE THERE ANY WRESTLERS ON THE INDY SCENE YOU WOULD LIKE TO WRESTLE THAT YOU HAVE NEVER WRESTLED BEFORE ?

Jack: ALL OF THEM!!!!!!
Rockstar Spud, Nathan Cruz, Mikey Whiplash, Trent Seven, Rampage Brown. There’s so many mate.
I enjoy matches but what I love doing is angles: with that talent it could be pretty special.

IMG_1666

UWR:  IF YOU COULD CHOOSE ANY WRESTLER IN HISTORY TO HAVE A MATCH WITH WHO WOULD IT BE ?

Johnny Saint. He threw me out of a rumble once.

14. ARE THERE ANY COMPANIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO WORK FOR IN THE FUTURE?

Jack: ALL OF THEM!!!!!!
Yeah WWE probably. I grew up watching them and there’s no bigger platform for a Pansexual wrestler, with my message, to aspire toward.

IMG_1664

UWR: WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO ANYONE STARTING OUT IN WRESTLING ?

Jack: Get you basics down. Understand why you do what you are doing: what are you building toward, what are you saying. With regards to character, look at society. Who are the stars in films? Who are the villians? How can you be different? Sit on the train, look at your fellow passengers: who from one glance is interesting? Who from one glance antagonises you?

UWR: WHERE CAN PEOPLE SEE YOU PERFORM NEXT ?

Jack: Progress Wrestling – dates to be announced.
GOOD Wrestling – 15/07/17
ACW Wrestling – 05/08/17
Unpro Wrestling – 20/08/17

Get involved ladies, lads and the androgynous x

You can Follow Jack Sexsmith on Twitter @TheJackSexsmith, on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/mrcocko/ and to book him its BookJackSexsmith@gmail.com

Follow UWR on Twitter @uwreviews and on Facebook https://m.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/

Leave a Reply

