“I Have Awoken, I Am Furio And You Will Be Mine !!”

We have been interviewing some of the more intriguing characters on the independent wrestling scene and one wrestler that is beginning to torment British Wrestling is the ‘Scourge of Pro Wrestling’  FURIO.

UWR: Where are you from ?

Furio: Palermo, When it was known to be the capital of the Kingdom of Sicily is where my body was born. I have spent most of my exsistence in the far east since then.

UWR: How old are you ?

Furio: As of this interview I have exsisted for 206 years.

IMG_1688

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

Furio: I remember being drawn to Hulk Hogan and how his aura attracted my interest to the sport. I then indulged my curiousity by watching as many different promotions as I could. It was ultimately the grace and the hypnotic style of the WCW Cruiserweights and Luchadores that made me want to be a professional wrestler.

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler, who trained you and how old were you ?

Furio: Originally I got a taste for wrestling by training at the Pitbull Powerhouse which was run by The UK Pitbulls (Big Dave and Bulk). It was a great first step for me in terms of preparing me for what was to come. I believe that was around 2003-2004. I stepped away from wrestling for a short while and pursued my Martial Arts traning even further. It was in 2011 that I arrived in at the Falling Starr Wrestlnig Academy which is run by Jimmy Starr and ‘Dark Wolf’ Matt Walters. I have not turned back since. I have been fortunate to have been coached by Danny Boy Collins, Jonny Storm, Mad Man Manson, Magnus and Mickie James plus many more in my training.

IMG_1689

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

Furio: I was very inspired by Owen Hart, Rey Mysterio, The Great Muta as I started watching wrestling. I am also very fond of the classic British Style pioneers like Johnny Saint, Jim Breaks, Clive Myers and of course Danny Collins.

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

Furio: Very much so. I have a large family and they are always watching. As long as I continue to spread the message that my family has instilled in me they will be satisfied.

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ? And what do you remember most about it ?

Furio: The first match I had was a Battle Royal which featured my fellow FSW Academy alumini. It was the main event so as you can imagine the level of responability we felt to close the show on a high. However I credit my first proper match as a Tag Match I had against my two trainers Jimmy Starr and Matt Walters. I believe it went well in regards to a first match. I was in the best possible environment and it gave me confidence to want to better myself.

IMG_1690

UWR: For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

Furio: I am that which by all account is not meant to be. You know what it’s like when you are alone at night, Darkness engulfs your room and you think all is peaceful. However you hear a noise, a shout, you think you saw something move. Your mind is now uncertain. You know something is there but you choose to not acknowledge it. But something is there. I am uncertainty given form. I am darkness in it’s purest design. I am fear made flesh. In regards to my style I try not to limit myself to just one. I take parts from my Martial Arts training, Lucha, British Technical, Strong Style etc to form my own style.

UWR: In your opinion what is the best match you have ever seen ?

Furio: Rey Mysterio vs Eddie Guerrero at WCW Halloween Havoc 1997. In my opinion it is one of the best Cruiserweight matches of all time. I am also fond of Bret Hart vs Owen Hart at Summerslam 1994 in a Cage Match.

IMG_1691

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

Furio: Last year I wrestled El Ligero for Falling Starr Wrestling. It was a great chance for me to test my abilities against the abilities of one of the countries finest. This year I have had a great series of matches with ‘Big’ Joe FX. I also have enjoyed wrestling Matt Walters and Tom Falcon in past encounters.

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

Furio: Becoming the first ever FSW Limitless Champion and having a very satisfiying run with it. Defending it against the countries best and having the responsabiltiy to breathe life into a new championship.

IMG_1692

UWR: Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

Furio: The list is too long. But one day I will face them all. They will never see me coming.

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history alive or dead to have a match with who would it

Furio: The Great Muta.

IMG_1693

UWR: Are there any companies that you would like to work for in the future?

Furio: I wish to infect the entirety of British Wrestling. Progress Wrestling, Rev-Pro, ATTACK, PCW, Southside these promotions have a lot of eyes watching them. Eyes that I will gouge out and devour. I would also love to tour Japan. I feel the fans there would be in for a treat and I would love to treat myself to the local cuisine.

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?

Furio: If you want to go for it, Then let’s go for it. Be patient, focus on every detail. Think about your fitness and your physique but also find something in wrestling that is yours. Something that will make you stand out.

IMG_1694

Furio: Where can people see you perform next ?

You can almost always find me at Falling Starr Wrestling who run shows every month. However you never know where I might turn up. I am in the very blood of British Wrestling and I will spread. You will never see me coming.

Go Follow Furio @FurioVampire, to book him its furiovampire@gmail.com and check out his Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/FurioVampire/

Follow UWR @uwreviews and like our Facebook page https://m.facebook.com/universalwrestlingreviews/

Leave a Reply

