A Good Dude Who Enjoys Doing Bad Things This Is Jeff Cannonball

After watching my first ever CZW Tournament Of Death  a few weeks ago I wanted to research this genre of Pro Wrestling further and we were lucky enough to interview one of the top Death Match Wrestlers in the world Jeff Cannonball.

IMG_1895

UWR: Where are you from ?

Jeff: Newbridge, NJ

UWR:  How old are you ?

Jeff: Literally turned 30 this week.

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

Jeff: Lifelong. I was a gigantic I literally don’t remember anything before wrestling. My dad was a fan and so I fell right in. I was the typical little kid fan, only liked the good guys. Ultimate Warrior above everyone else.

IMG_1903

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler and who trained you ?

Jeff: I started my training with a small company that is no longer in business, NWS. I was trained initially by Corey Havoc and Nicky Oceans. I later started training with Corvis Fear, later known as Eric Corvis in Chikara, CZW, JAPW, etc.

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

Jeff: As a young kid, Ultimate Warrior is what made me want to wrestle. He is everything I loved in wrestling; loud, fast, high energy, looked cool, and made very little sense. As I got older guys like Mr. Pogo (RIP), Cactus Jack, and Tommy Dreamer really took hold of my mind. I loved the look of Pogo, the things he was doing I never saw before. Cactus Jack was incredible in every way, and his story should still be studied by anyone who wants to be a wrestler. Dreamer was the guy who looked fairly normal, but kicked ass and had wild brawls. Everything I strive for.

IMG_1899

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career ?

Jeff: Yes and no. They love that I do what I love. My parents come to the family-friendly type shows I do on occasion. But they hate the more violent side. Friends are fairly similar, but they’ll come watch the death matches and then afterwards they will give me hell for being stupid haha!

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ? And what do you remember most about it ?

Jeff: My first match was a 6 man tag. It was Corey Havoc, JC The Outpatient, and Jack Spade vs myself, Corvis Fear, and Draven. It went well for a first match. I was put in a 6 way to kind of get comfortable in the ring and to hide the things I wasn’t so good at yet. Corey Havoc and Corvis Fear made it much more comfortable by being dudes I had been training with the most. What I remember most is the overwhelming feeling right before going out when all the people that came out for me were vocal. Since it was my debut I had a ton of family and friends in the crowd and it was obvious by the reaction.

IMG_1896

UWR: For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

Jeff: Jeff Cannonball is a light hearted, mostly good dude who is down to do some bad things to others and often throws himself around with little regard for personal well being just to hurt the opponent. A lot of times you’ll get a wild brawl, maybe blood, if the match permits theres probably going to be objects flying. But theres always a few tricks that get pulled out to surprise people. I did a hurricanrana not so long ago, no one saw it coming.

UWR: What is the best match you have ever seen.

Jeff: This is a hard question. Off the top of my head…Necro Butcher vs Samoa Joe from IWA MS.

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

Jeff: I don’t think anything or one stands out as THE best. I think the best opponents I’ve stood across the ring multiple times from are G-Raver and Matt Tremont. Matt and I have done war countless times, I’m very proud of just about all of those matches. Raver and I just seem to have a weird violent chemistry with each other. My favorite match may just be myself vs G-Raver at OPW in a cinder blocks and carpet strips match.

IMG_1902

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

Jeff: Winning the On Point Wrestling Survival of the Sickest 2 tournament. I put myself in a small group of people who helped build OPW to what it has become, most notable from me on the death match side of things. So to win their 2nd ever death match tournament, it was a huge moment. Add to the fact that in one day I got to wrestle death match legends Tank and Matt Tremont, California’s best in JD Horror, and Brad Cash, who I never before defeated. Then to top it off, NY/NJ wrestling father figure, Lowlife Louie presented the trophy.

UWR: Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

Jeff: Tons. I never sat and made a list like most do. Even if I did, I’d be constantly adding to it. Some of my favorite guys to watch right now that I’ve never shared a ring with are Jason Kincaid, Madman Pondo, Dale Patricks (singles match), and Jonathan Gresham.

 

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history to have a match with who would it be ?

Jeff: Cactus Jack, easy.

UWR: Are there any goals you have set for yourself that you have not yet achieved ?

Jeff: I want to win CZW’s Tournament of Death. I want to be flown to wrestle, whether its Europe or within the United States or anything in between or further. I have held a trophy as a singles wrestler, I’ve held tag gold, but never a singles championship. These are the big goals as of now.

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling ?

Jeff: Don’t be a dick. There are enough dicks in wrestling that just being a good person will stand out.

UWR: Where can people see you perform next ?

Jeff: UWA Elite, On Point Wrestling, Capitol Wrestling, VOW, H2O, CZW are all shows that I am a regular at with shows coming up!

Follow Jeff Cannonball on Twitter @jeffcannonball

Follow UWR on Twitter @uwreviews and go like our Facebook page Universal Wrestling Reviews

Leave a Reply

