‘The King Of Performance’ Kelly Sixx

We had the pleasure to interview a very talented performer who has been making a lot of noise all over the UK by winning over fans with his in ring ability and character, The King Of Performance Kelly Sixx.

IMG_2023

UWR: Where are you from ?

Sixx: I’m from Southampton, England, bang in the middle of the south coast.

UWR: How old are you ?

Sixx: As I pack away my Zimmer frame, I can tell you I’m 26!

UWR: Growing up were you a fan of Pro Wrestling ?

Sixx: I wasn’t ever exposed to it. I have a memory of a friend bringing Smackdown 1 or 2 round my house for a sleepover when I was in Junior school, but that’s it. I was exposed to it again around 13 when my friend showed me Here Comes The Pain on Playstation.

IMG_2019

UWR: Where did you train to become a Wrestler and who trained you ?

Sixx: All over the place! I’ve spent short amounts of time with many guys from the old FWA academy, but my main training credits go to Justin Richards’ school, the RPW Portsmouth School of Wrestling and to myself for how much self-study I’ve put in.

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

Sixx: I was a mixed bag until I discovered wrestling, I didn’t know what music I liked, what girls or clothes I liked, I just tried everything. When I finally got into wrestling, Eddie Guerrero was the first one to really get me invested.

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your Pro Wrestling Career?

Sixx: Family never were, however they’ve understood it more as time went on. They even came to their first show of mine in December last year for RCWA, which was amazing for me.

IMG_2016

UWR: I’m sure like every Wrestler you remember your first match. So who was in the match ? Did it go well ? And what do you remember most about it ?

Sixx: I’m a product of the backyard community that produced guys like Will Ospreay etc, and we had some ‘shows’ that we had no right putting on to the public in reality… If we’re talking about those, my first live match had great ideas behind the story, but we weren’t good enough to pull it off properly. I remember using Will’s mum to check on me for an injury angle, that was fun!

UWR:  For people that have never seen You perform can you describe your character and wrestling style?

Sixx: Things are about to change for me, as I’ve been soul searching for a little while now. So you’re getting a nice exclusive here!
I’m a massive fan of stage shows and live performances, such as plays/rap battles etc. I’ve stuck myself with the moniker the King of Performance, and this is really going to come into play going forward. I’m talking big production values for what smaller shows are used to, and a big incorporation of frontman-style attention to detail.

UWR: What is the best match you have ever seen ?

Sixx: Melina vs Alicia Fox

IMG_2014

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

Sixx: Without a doubt, against Kip Sabian at RCWA’s God vs Assassin show last year, get that DVD!

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in Pro Wrestling ?

Sixx: Every single time I get a good response from fans and my peers, that’s the best thing in general for me.

IMG_2015

UWR; Are there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

Sixx: I got to tag against Chris Ridgeway once but still need a singles! I’ve met so many now through being on bigger shows such as Lucha Forever, that I’d love to clash with so many of them. Speedball Mike Bailey is my #1 choice.

 

UWR: If you could choose any wrestler in history to have a match with who would it be ?

Sixx: Shawn Michaels, nothing else is required.

UWR: Are there any goals you have set for yourself that you have not yet achieved ?

Sixx: There’s a lot this year as I aimed high: Wrestling at York Hall, Graduating from the Rev Pro Contenders, and being the FSM One To Watch are right up there.
I’ve completed some great ones too though: I’ve managed to surpass my Part Time goal and go Full Time, as well as wrestling an Indy Import (Jack Evans) and you just made me realise, I hit 100 paid matches on 04/06/2017 against the London Riots at Rev Pro!

UWR: What advice would you give to anyone starting out in Wrestling?

Sixx: Get your cardio sorted, get in shape, train somewhere respectable. Listen, ask for advice from everyone, watch a lot of movies to understand stories.

UWR: Where can people see you perform next?

Sixx: Lucha Forever this Sunday! After that, KWE on 16th and Strike on 23rd!

Follow Kelly Sixx on Twitter @KellySixxUK

Follow UWR on Twitter @uwreviews and check out Universal Wrestling Reviews on Facebook

Leave a Reply

