The Underdog Who Never Backs Down From A Fight… Jon Connor

We got the chance to interview another young very talented wrestler from Wales who is making a name for himself and showing that the future of British Wrestling is only going to get better. This is Jon Connor.

IMG_2012

UWR: Where are you from ?

Jon: I was born In a small market town called Newbury but moved to Swansea when I was about 13

UWR: How old are you ?

Jon:I’m 18 years old

UWR: Were you a fan of pro wrestling growing up ?

Jon: This is a weird one for me because when I was very young I used to watch it all the time like a lot of boys did but I didn’t really become a fan until I was about 10 because TNA was on Bravo a lot and I would watch it with my old man all the time before he had a stroke which messed with his memory etc (won’t go into that sob story) but even after that we still watched the wreslting and it started to feel really special to me and I became a proper fan.

UWR: Where did you train to become a wrestler ?

Jon: I trained and still do train at Royal Imperial Wrestling under Jezz Gardner who really has been going above and beyond for each of his students.

UWR: Who are some of your influences ?

Jon: Aj Styles, Joseph Conners (I’ve actually had the chance to talk with the man and he’s a fantastic guy, gave me some of the best advice I’ve been given) Doug Williams and Christian Cage.

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your pro wrestling career ?

Jon: They’re a lot more supportive now they’ve seen my dedication and passion for the industry

UWR: Im sure like most you remember your first match. So who was it against and what do you remember most about it ?

Jon: My first match was in April this year and it was a total hit of luck, right place, right time and right attitude. I was in a 9 man ‘full impact’ elimination match at RIW’s Fifth element 6 show. Against Jezz Gardner, Kat Von Kaige, Owen Wall, White Tiger, Danny Owens, Bishop, Dean Winters. It didn’t go according to plan as I was eliminated in a less than fair way with a low blow and roll up by Jezz Gardner. But it’s all okay, he’ll learn his lesson soon enough. I remember mostly taking an ungodly amount of chops at one point in all 3 on 1 beat down of chops.

IMG_2031

UWR: For people that have never seen you perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

Jon: I am an underdog. I’m tough, there is no challenge I won’t stare in the face and give a big thumbs up to! My style? I’m a technical guy, I’ll work any limb you expose to me so stay away from the mat. But don’t think you’re safe when you’re on your feet because I’ll just as easily strike you down snd throw you around. I may not have the biggest muscles but my heart and my passion will make sure I come out on top! If I get thrown to wolves know I will come back leading the pack.

UWR: What is the best match you have ever seen ?

Jon: Best match I’ve seen would have to be Aj styles vs Shinsuke Nakamura, pacing was fantastic and the skill was next level!

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent.

Jon: My best would have to be when I tagged with Jordan Spirits against Kat Von Kaige and Ciel Fontaine. It was an awesome match full of character!

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in pro wrestling.

Jon: My proudest moment would have to be after the above match, despite the actions of Ciel putting those differences aside to help her to the back after Kat Von Kaige turned on her with a vicious piledriver.

IMG_2030

UWR: Is there any wrestlers on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

Jon: My dream opponent would either be Joseph Conners, Doug Williams or a one on one with my trainer Jezz Gardner.

UWR: If you could have a match with any wrestler in history who would it be ?

Jon: Edge would be a dream opponent.

UWR: Are there any goals you have set for yourself that you have not achieved yet ?

Jon:  I have two main goals yet to be achieved 1) capture my first singles title and 2) work in England Scotland and Northern Ireland.

UWR: What advice would you give to someone who wants to be a pro wrestler ?

Jon: Be ready for the toughest most worthwhile experience of your life. Respect every man and woman you meet in this business and as Joseph Conners told me ‘this industry owes you nothing’ so work your ass off and earn the respect you feel you deserve.

IMG_2032

UWR: Where can people see you perform next ?

Jon: My next appearance is on July 22nd in Pembrokeshire for RIW but an apearance I’ll be making in august on the 26th in Port Talbot Wales on RIW’s Tequila Sunrise show is one I’m most excited for as I’ve been raising money for the mental health charity Mind by planning to shave my hair off and that’s the day it happens!

Here is a link below to sponsor Jon shaving off his hair for MIND please give what ever you can for a great cause

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Jonconnor-Head?utm_medium=email&utm_source=ExactTarget&utm_campaign=20170604_96877

Follow Jon Connor on Twitter @JonConnor_

Please Follow UWR on Twitter @uwreviews and check out Universal Wrestling Reviews on Facebook

Leave a Reply

