Iron Bull. Golden Lion. The Mountain. Earthshaker. The Man They Call Massive. Kingslayer. The Marquee Player. König der Catcher. This is Jurn Simmons

The first time I saw Jurn Simmons perform I was not only amazed by his ring entrance but seeing a guy his size do the things he does inside a ring is breathtaking. Having already shown to be one of the best big men in Europe by winning championships in the top promotions across Europe, it won’t be long before he is performing for some of the biggest companies around the World on the Biggest Stage there is and one day becoming the best big man in the world.  We got the chance to find out more about Jurn Simmons when he agreed to do a short interview with us.

IMG_2125

UWR: Where are you from?

Jurn: The Netherlands.

UWR: How old are you ?

Jurn:  I am currently 25 years of age.

UWR: Were you a fan of pro wrestling growing up ?

Jurn:  No, I was not a professional wrestling fan growing up. I knew of its existence, but I wouldn’t consider myself a fan.

IMG_2128

UWR: Where did you train to become a wrestler and who trained you ?

Jurn: I trained at the Pro Wrestling Holland(PWH) school and my head trainer was Tengkwa.

UWR: Who were some of your influences growing up ?

Jurn:  I wasn’t a fan, so I can’t say that I had influences growing up.

IMG_2134

UWR: Are your family and friends supportive of your pro wrestling career ?

Jurn:  Yes, most of my friends and family are quite supportive of me being a professional sports entertainer. Mainly due to the relative quick success I’ve had so far and due to it being something very unique.

UWR: I’m sure like most wrestlers you remember your first match. So who was it against and what do you remember about it ?

Jurn: My first official match was for Pro Wrestling Holland(PWH) against a wrestler called Ymah. I think for a first match it went quite alright, but I can’t look back on it because in my opinion it’s quite bad and not at all what I’d like to represent.

IMG_2127

UWR: For people that have never seen you perform can you describe your character and wrestling style ?

Jurn:  Hahaha, this is a tough question. I guess I’d say my wrestling style is very showmanship-based with quite a bit of power and brawling mixed in there. From time to time I’ll throw in some athletic stuff, but that’s not the norm.
The character is built up out of my lack of fandom growing up, so it’s a guy that resents the influx of wrestler who are bigger fans than the people watching the show but also staunchy traditionalists.

UWR: What is the best match you have ever watched ?

Jurn: My favourite match is Razor Ramon vs Shawn Michaels from Wrestlemania X.

IMG_2129

UWR: What in your opinion is your best match or opponent you have ever had ?

Jurn: I would say that the best match I’ve had so far is vs Bad Bones John Klinger at wXw Shortcut to the Top 2016 and that my favourite opponent is Axel Dieter Jr.

UWR: What is your proudest moment from your time in pro wrestling ?

Jurn: My match vs Axel Dieter Jr. at 16 Carat Gold 2017 is my proudest achievement so far. It meant a lot to me personally.

IMG_2133

UWR: Is there anyone on the Indy scene you would like to wrestle that you have never wrestled before ?

Jurn: I’d like to finally have a proper match with Tyler Bate. Besides that, whoever is a big name that can help give me more exposure. I’m not picky.

UWR: If you could have one match with a wrestler in history who would it be ?

Jurn:  Stone Cold Steve Austin. Isn’t he the biggest draw ever?

IMG_2132

UWR: Are there any goals that you have set for yourself that you have not yet achieved  ?

Jurn: There’s plenty of goals that I haven’t achieved yet. I am quite restless, impatient and hungry which fuels me so the day I run out of goals is probably the day I quit.

UWR: What advice would you give to someone that wants to be a Pro Wrestler ?

Jurn: Take it seriously and go all the way or don’t bother starting.

UWR: Where can people see you perform next ?

Jurn: I’ll be performing for What Culture Pro Wrestling on July 22nd and after that the wXw Fight Forever Tour starts on August 5th and I will be a part of that entire tour.

 

 

Follow Jurn Simmons on Twitter @JurnSimmons

Follow UWR on Twitter @uwreviews and check out Universal Wrestling Reviews on Facebook

 

Leave a Reply

